AUTUMN DAYS IN EXMOOR NATIONAL PARK

Exmoor is the only of the three principal west country moorland areas to include imposing sections of coastline. Rugged cliffs, open grazing lands and extensive stretches of wild moorland contrast with the lush green valleys and pretty villages equally typical of this region.

Exmoor has pretty well everything, and is especially well suited to walking. On Shank’s Pony you can discover the very best that Exmoor has to offer - especially those areas off the normal tourist tracks.

We stay in a friendly, family-run hotel in the picturesque village of Dunster, with its imposing castle complex and ancient houses, and each day we set out to discover a different area on foot. The walking is not especially difficult, and the distances involved are reasonable. After all, it’s supposed to be a holiday!  It is, however, first and foremost a walking holiday, and guests should be willing and able to undertake at least longish strolls without too much difficulty. Sometimes we will travel a short distance by bus, train or taxi to reach our starting point. If some guests want to walk a little more – or less! – than planned, we will do our best to accommodate their wishes.

Among other points of interest we visit the neighbouring holiday resort of Minehead, with its picturesque old town; the garden village of Selworthy, where the tea house “Periwinkle Cottage” is home to some of the best cakes in the universe; the twin towns of Lynmouth and Lynton, linked together by a water-powered cliff lift; the little hunting lodge at Watersmeet, tucked away between two raging torrents in the depths of a steep-sided valley. Exmoor has all this and much more besides: together with a knowledgeable local guide we will enjoy an Exmoor-Safari to learn more about the fascinating wildlife of these moorlands, among others red deer, birds and unique Exmoor ponies. The area is endowed with more than its fair share of cosy, olde worlde pubs, which we will naturally also look forward to visiting!

Everyone knows Dartmoor, and thousands of people head there each year. But with the exception of one or two “hot spots”, Exmoor has managed to remain relatively unaffected by mass tourism. Why not join us and let us convince you?!

 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION

 

ACCOMMODATION. The half board price includes 7 nights’ accommodation in double or twin-bedded rooms with private bath or shower and WC; a generous cooked breakfast, and four 3-course dinners with a choice.

SINGLES: People travelling alone are most welcome. Since single rooms are not always available, guests should be prepared to share a twin-bedded room with another suitable person if necessary. In other cases a supplement is payable. Further information is available on request.

THE WEATHER: September/October in the south west can be absolutely glorious. Warm sunny weather is no rarity, although it can often be pretty windy. Therefore always bring warm clothes with you. As you will appreciate, however, the lush green West Country meadows are not that colour by chance! It does sometimes rain! As a result we would very strongly recommend that you bring good Goretex jackets and rainproof trousers with you, as well as a small foldable umbrella. But bring your sun cream, too. Sun, wind and salt will ensure an enviable tan!

THE WALKING: On some days we shall be walking approximately 3-4 miles, sometimes less. The walking is generally quite easy, with mostly gentle gradients and good surfaces. There is a lot to see en route, so we always allow plenty of time to enable guests to appreciate the area and to do justice to the places of interest.

GETTING THERE: For people travelling by train we can arrange a pick-up from and return to Taunton station, which is on the main London Paddington – Penzance railway line. For those driving, parking is not normally a problem. Full travel details are supplied to all guests when booking.

 

THE HOLIDAY PRICE IS £769.00

 

 DATES:  SUNDAY 1ST TO SUNDAY 8TH OCTOBER 2017

OUR GROUPS ARE ALWAYS PRETTY SMALL : USUALLY APPROX. 10-16 PERSONS. ALL GROUPS ARE ACCOMPANIED BY JENNY AND/OR GREG CURTIS-BEARD PERSONALLY

 WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU FULL DETAILS OF OUR HOLIDAY PROGRAMME WITH THE RELEVANT PRICES AND DATES

In general our walking and garden holidays are not suitable for children.

 

 

BACK TO HOME PAGE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Web Page Created with PageBreeze Free HTML Editor

HERBSTTAGE IM NATIONALPARK VON EXMOOR

 

 

Exmoor ist das einzige Hochmoor in SW England das direkt ans Meer grenzt. Eine imponierende Steilkueste, offene Weideflaechen und ausgedehnte wilde Moorlandschaften wechseln sich mit ueppig gruenen Taelern und reizenden Doerfchen ab.

Exmoor hat alles. Vor allem ist es perfekt zum Wandern geeignet. Zu Fuss entdecken wir die Vielseitigkeit von Exmoor  - auch dort, wo es noch sehr wenig Touristen gibt.

Wir uebernachten in einem freundlichen familiengefuehrten Hotel im Herzen des reizenden Dorfes Dunster, mit seiner imponierenden Burganlage und seinen uralten Haeusern. Jeden Tag geniessen wir einen anderen Wander-Ausflug. Das Wandern ist nicht uebermaessig schwer, und die Entfernungen sind angemessen. Das ist ja Urlaub! Es ist aber trotzdem in erster Linie ein Wanderurlaub, und Gaeste sollen zumindest laengere Spaziergaenge durchhalten koennen. Machmal fahren wir mit Bus, Bahn oder Taxi eine kurze Strecke zum Startpunkt. Fuer Gaeste die mehr – oder weniger! wandern moechten als geplant, versuchen wir immer flexibel zu sein.

Unter anderen besuchen wir das benachbarte Ferienstaedtchen Minehead, mit seinem malerischen historischen Viertel; das Gartendorf Selworthy, wo im strohbedeckten “Periwinkle Cottage” die allerbesten Kuchen zu finden sind; die beiden Zwillingsstaetchen Lynmouth und Lynton, verbunden durch einen wasserbetriebenen Klippen-Aufzug; das kleine Jagdschloesschen Watersmeet, tief unten im Tal zwischen zwei rauschenden Baechern eingebettet. Es gibt auch vieles mehr: wir geniessen einen Exmoor-Safari mit fachmannischer Begleitung um die beruehmte Tierwelt des Hochmoors naeher kennenzulernen – u.A. Rotwild, Voegel und die eigenartigen Exmoor-Ponies. Die Gegend bietet sehr viele urige Kneipen, die wir natuerlich auch besuchen koennen!

Alle Touristen kennen Dartmoor und Tausende davon stroemen jades Jahr dorthin. Mit Ausnahme von einigen “Hotspots” bleibt Exmoor von Massentourismus relativ verschont. Machen Sie mit und ueberzeugen Sie sich selbst!

 

ALLGEMEINE INFORMATIONEN

 

UNTERKUNFT.  Der Halbpensionspreis enthält Unterkunft für 7 Nächte in 2-Bett- bzw. Doppelzimmern mit Bad od. Du/WC; ein ergiebiges gekochtes (englisches) Frühstück und 4 x Abendessen (3-gaengiges Wahlmenu).

ALLEINREISENDE GÄSTE sind bei uns natürlich sehr willkommen. Da Einzelzimmer allerdings nicht immer vorhanden sind sollten sie bereit sein, eventuell ein Doppelzimmer mit einer geeigneten Person zu teilen. Sonst ist ein EZ-Zuschlag bezahlbar. Weitere Infos auf Wunsch. 

DAS WETTER. Die Monate September/Oktober koennen noch wunderschoen sein im englischen Südwesten. Warmes, sonniges Wetter ist keine Seltenheit : es kann aber windig sein! Wie im Festlandeuropa kann’s natürlich auch hier zu jeder Jahreszeit regnen! Daher sollten Sie Goretex Jacken und –Hosen unbedingt mitnehmen. Aber auch Ihre Sonnencreme - von Sonne, Wind und Salz bekommen Sie eine tolle Farbe!

DAS WANDERN. Die Tagesetappen entsprechen im Durchschnitt jeweils 5-6 km, wenn überhaupt soviel. Das Wandern ist im allgemeinen sehr einfach, auf gutem Boden und mit wenig Ansteigen. Es gibt unterwegs viel zu sehen, und wir teilen genügend Zeit ein damit man sich gut ausruhen kann! 

DIE ANREISE. Die beste Anreisemöglichkeit istLondon anzufliegen und weiter mit IC-Zug nach Taunton. Die Entfernungen sind nicht übermäßig groß und es ist sehr einfach, in einem Tag die Reise fortzusetzen. Die Ruckfahrt ist auch von Taunton. Gäste die gern individuell reisen können auch mit dem eigenen Auto fahren. Beim Buchen bekommen Sie von uns detaillierte Anreiseinformationen.

DER URLAUBSPREIS (ORTSPAUSCHAL) BETRAEGT £769,00 Pfund

TERMIN:  SONNTAG, 1. OKTOBER BIS SONNTAG, 8. OKTOBER 2017

UNSERE  GRUPPEN SIND IMMER KLEIN : VON CA. 10-16 PERSONEN – UND ALLE GRUPPEN WERDEN VON JENNY UND/ODER GREG CURTIS-BEARD PERSÖNLICH BEGLEITET

GERNE SENDEN WIR IHNEN WEITERE INFORMATION ÜBER UNSER GESAMT-WANDERPROGRAMM MIT PREISEN UND DEN ENTSPRECHENDEN TERMINEN 

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             ZURUECK ZUR STARTSEITE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Web Page Created with PageBreeze Free HTML Editor